Kentucky Counties Install Permanent Prescription Drug Drop-Boxes to Provide Safe, Legal, and Environmentally Acceptable Drug Disposal for Citizens

Carroll County
Laurel County
Madison County
Northern Kentucky Counties
Warren County

Carroll County

The Carrollton Police Department has installed permanent drop-boxes for the disposal of over-the-counter and prescription drugs, including controlled substances. The large blue boxes, clearly marked, “Pharmaceutical Recover Program,” are located at three sites in Carroll County:

Carrollton Police Department 
750 Clay St 
Carrollton, KY 41008
24-hour access 

Carroll County Sheriff’s Office
440 Main St 
Carrollton, KY 41008-1086
(Monday-Friday, 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM)

Carroll County Memorial Hospital – Emergency Room Waiting Area
309 Eleventh St
Carrollton, KY 41008 
24-hour access

The program also has a moveable Recovery Box that upon request, can be placed at various locations in Carroll County. To request placement at an event, business, or church, call 502/732-6621.

Laurel County

Laurel County Sheriff's Office
203 S Broad St
London, KY 40741
24-hour access

Madison County Prescription Drug Disposal Boxes Installed

The Madison County Prescription Drug Disposal Program allows residents to drop off unused prescription drugs, including controlled substances, 24-hours-a-day. A partnership between the program and the Foundation for a Healthy Kentucky led to the installation of prescription drug collection boxes near the entrances of the Berea and Richmond police departments.

Before depositing items, residents are asked to:

  • remove personal information from prescription drug bottles
  • tightly seal prescription drug bottles and place them in a sealed plastic storage bag
  • remove needles, which are not accepted by the Drug Disposal Program

Unneeded prescription drugs can be dropped off at:

Berea Police Department 
City Hall
212 Chestnut Street
Berea, KY 40403 

Richmond Police Department
1721 Lexington Road
Richmond, KY 40475
859/623-8911 or 859/623-8912

Northern Kentucky Law Enforcement Provides Drug Disposal Drop Box Locations

A coalition of Northern Kentucky law enforcement and community organizations has placed prescription drug disposal drop-boxes in the lobbies of 12 Northern Kentucky police departments.

Unwanted prescription drugs, including controlled substances, can be deposited anonymously into the metal collection boxes during the participating police departments’ regular business hours. Items are documented according to DEA guidelines and then incinerated. All identifying information is also destroyed.

Prescription drugs can be dropped off at the following locations:

Owingsville Police Department

19 Goodpaster Ave
Owingsville, KY 40360


Boone County Sheriff 
3000 Conrad Ln.
Burlington, KY 41005 

Campbell County Police Department
8774 Constable Dr.
Alexandria, KY 41001 

Edgewood Police Department 
385 Dudley Rd.
Edgewood, KY 41017 

Erlanger Police Department 
505 Commonwealth Ave
Erlanger, KY 41018

Florence Police Department
8100 Ewing Blvd, Government Center
Florence, KY 41042 

Fort Thomas Police Department 
130 N Fort Thomas Ave
Fort Thomas, KY 41075

Fort Wright Police Department
409 Kyles Ln
Fort Wright, KY 41011

Grant County Sheriff's Office
212 A Barnes Rd
Williamstown, KY 41097
9 AM to 5 PM

Highland Heights Police Department
176 Johns Hill Rd.
Highland Heights, KY 41076

Kenton County Police Department
11777 Madison Pike
Independence, KY 41051

Newport Police Department 
998 Monmouth St.
Newport, KY 41071 

Park Hills Police Department
1106 Amsterdam Rd.
Park Hills, KY 41011 

Villa Hills Police Department 
719 Rogers Rd.
Villa Hills, KY 41017 

Warren County Police, Community Organizations Install Medication Disposal Bins

Kentucky State Police, the Warren County Sheriff's Department, the Bowling Green Police Department, and the Save Our Kids Coalition have partnered to install permanent prescription drug disposal drop-boxes that are accessible to residents 24-hours a day. The boxes have been installed at two locations – the Warren County Sheriff’s Office and Kentucky State Police Post 3. A third box at the Bowling Green Police Department is scheduled to be installed in the near future.

The black metal boxes marked “Pharmaceutical Disposal” will be monitored around-the-clock. Drugs collected in the boxes are destroyed in an incinerator located at the Kentucky State Police post in Bowling Green.

Unneeded prescription drugs, including controlled substances, can be dropped off at the following locations:

Warren County Sheriff’s Office
429 E Tenth St, Ste 102
Bowling Green, KY 42101 

Kentucky State Police Post 3
3119 Nashville Rd
Bowling Green, KY 42102

Bowling Green Police Department (Coming Soon)
911 Kentucky St 
Bowling Green, KY 42101 

Additional Drug Disposal Locations

Crittenden County
Marion Police Department
217 S Main St
Marion, KY 42064

Laurel County
London Police Department
503 S Main St
London, KY 40741